The Happy Days

It’s the little things in life that are cause for celebration. Such as getting over a rut of depression. The past few days have been difficult on me, but I was able to get through it. I like to treat myself when I do, such as maybe an extra cup o joe, or paint my nails. It makes me feel better about myself when I reward myself knowing I got through a rough spot. I know that isn’t how the real world works, but thats the way it works for me to help boost my confidence.

That being said, just after I had finally gotten my lump of a self out of bed, my grandma needed a ride to her nail appointment. I knew I needed to get out of the house. I HAD to. The worst thing, in my opinion, is to get out of a rut with depression, and stay inside. For me, it would be more cause for depression to come back, and steal a couple more days from me. But no. I would not stand for it.

As my favorite nail tech did my acrylic, him and I chatted a lot about things going on in our lives and how we deal with things. One thing he said to me, which was hard for me to grasp was, “Marissa, I am going to give you some life advice that I hope you never forget. Don’t be too nice and let people have an opprotunity to take advantage of you.”

That was something hard for me to understand. I had grown up, and lived my teenage img_2044years being too nice. He continued to tell me the story of why he said that, and what had been going on with his family. While I see his side of things, I firmly believe you can never pass up a chance to be nice to someone. But that is in my nature. Maybe I will understand better in the future.

In other news, later on in the day, I was able to be with some dear friends of mine. We went out, got some food, went to Books A Million, and played Cards Against img_2045Humanity. It was all… simple. Just the way I like things.

What I got at the book store was this wonderful book here, F*ck Feelings by Michael and Sarah Bennett. Obscene? Maybe. Helpful? Hell yes. F*ck Feelings was actually recommended to me by my mother. I have only read the introduction in all honesty, but it is really supposed to help one with troubles in life… like dealing with assholes.

 

I will surely update on how reading it goes. All in all, my advice here, is to:

  1. Sometimes you need to wait things out. Pushing yourself to get better can help, but sometimes you just need to wait, take a nap, and see how you feel.
  2. Reward yourself. It may not work for everyone and yeah, it isn’t how the real world works. But you can’t be concerned with how everyone else does things. Do what is best for yourself. Because at the end of the day, you have to do what is best for you.
  3. Reading can be fun.
  4. Be nice to people.
  5. Take naps, drink a lot of water, and smile as much as you can.

You are worth it.

What do you do when you get over a lump? Reflect? Write in a journal? Go out?

Leave a Reply

