My People

“Sunday June 12, 2016 at 2am, shots were fired. By the later morning hours, 50 were killed, 53 injured. The worst mass shooting in modern day U.S. history. The Orlando shooting this morning has rocked my world. This whole morning I have sat mindlessly in front of the TV, absolutely awe struck at what has happened.

Everyday, LGBTQ+ people are threatened, are attacked. I can honestly say, speaking for most of the LGBTQ+ community when I say, we are terrified. We are scared beyond words because these are our brothers and sisters who have fought their whole life to express themselves freely. We are scared because everyday we live with this fear that we will be bullied, attacked, or killed, for simply being born the way we are. But I swear to you, we will stand strong in days like this.

My heart, my love, my prayers go out to those lives that were lost that day, and to their families, friends, and loved ones.”

I started this post the day it happened. I haven’t wanted to continue or finish it, in the wake of the tragedy, knowing people needed their time to grieve, and also knowing that we still don’t have all the answers.

I will not get political about this, and I hope other people will not get political either. Now is not the time to do so. Give everyone a couple days to mourn the loss of loved ones, then start the discussion about gun violence or whatever you feel is needed to talk about. When the time is right, I too will share my opinions. But not now.

Please be safe. Much love. Will update later today.

Leave a Reply

