What is Next?

I think that is the question we are all asking ourselves these days. Whether it is with the world around you, your place of employment, personal relationships, your education, whatever. We are all asking what is next. In these past few weeks I have had to come to a strong halt in my thought process. Thinking that I knew what could come next as long as I stuck to a plan and I didn’t waiver in my thoughts or opinions.

Examples:
“I can be off my medication by the time I start college!” – Me, about 2-3 years ago.
“I know what I want to do with my life!” – Me, about a year ago.

Boy was I wrong in those two. I could list more but I don’t want to seem pathetic. I am still going strong in my medication and looking at a couple more years on it, and I have also now decided on a completely new major, of which may still change. My point is, we don’t know what the future brings. We can only be hopeful for what we want / need / wish for, but can’t always bank on it. We can’t always be positive on what comes next, we can only ask the question and wait.

One side not with this whole argument, whatever may come next for you, always do what you have to do, make the decisions you have to, to make YOU happy. This is a hard concept of which I still haven’t even mastered. I can only try my best at it, and hope to improve. Another fault of mine, I seek validation, especially from my family and other loved ones. I feel like I haven’t made the right choice if it upsets / disappoints / infuriates them, no matter how happy the choice may have made me. That, in turn, impacts my choices for my “what comes next?” because I didn’t do, and won’t do, what it takes to make me happy.

Long story short, what ever choice you make to make you question “what comes next?”, make it a healthy, happy, good choice. No matter how hard it may be. Example, divorce. That isn’t a happy choice in the beginning. In the long run, I hope that it would result in a happier life for both parties. Get the picture?

I hope everyone has been well, I wish you happy vibes.

Are making choices easy for you? Or do you
seek other peoples approval?

Leave a Reply

