Coping With Art: A Tattoo Worth A Thousand Words

By: Marissa

So the school year is coming to a close, and I can honestly say I am excited for the next school year to start already! I am excited to start my thesis, meet new people, and see what this world has in store for me.

Over the course of this school year, I have had an addiction, some would say a very unhealthy one, to tattoos. I got my first one on my birthday, August 24th, and now I have a total of 9 tattoos. 3 on my feet, 1 on my calf, 1 on my hip, and 4 on my arms.

14125655_1188549567872940_601495824495653636_oMy first one meant a lot to me because it is my bodybuilding number, #76. It was my reward for all the hard work I had put in when I was only 15, and it reminds me that I can do whatever I want in life, as long as I put in the hard work and dedication.

Sure, a lot of my tattoos are impulse tattoos. The one I have on my right forearm is a small flash tattoo from Friday the 13th in January. 5 of my tattoos, 2 on my left arm and the 3 on my feet, are all stick and poke tattoos. However, they all have some meaning to me.

But, the one tattoo that means the most to me, is my 20170505_125539most recent tattoo. The whole idea for this tattoo has been years in the making. Ever since my depression started, and I began self-harming, I always wanted a rose on my arm that said this. The term “blossom,” for me, comes from a quote I made up when I was younger that says, “I grew thorns as I blossomed.” And of course, I have always loved American Traditional tattoos. So, this was made.

Honestly, you can still see the scar, right between the two S’s. But you know what? I can’t escape everything that has happened to me, and everything I have done to my body. However, I can make the best out of it.

Leave a Reply

